Jadavpur University Alumni Association Hyderabad Chapter


Science Symposium 2019

Program: 10th Annual Science Symposium of the Hyderabad Chapter of ‘Jadavpur University’, Kolkata
Venue: Indian Institute of Chemical Technology (IICT), Uppal, Hyderabad.
Date: November 9, 2019

The 10th Annual Science Symposium of the Alumni of ‘Jadavpur University’, Hyderabad Chapter was celebrated in a grand manner at the Indian Institute of Chemical Technology (IICT), Uppal on November 9th.J U Alumni Hyderabad Chapter president Aniruddha Sengupta, CEO REITZ was on the stage along with Dr.D.Shailaja Sr Principal Scientist IICT, Directors of DRDO Labs Dr S K Chaudhuri, A K Chakravarthi along with Mr Madhav  Chattopdhya Scientist IICT and Mr Debashish Basu CEO VOITH.

Students from Class IX-XII representing about 15 schools took part in this Science Symposium. Guest Lectures including Entrepreneurship development, Poster Competitions, Group Discussion, and Science Quiz were the highlights of the program.

Prominent among the speakers were PadmaShri V. Gnana Gandhi of ISRO, a pioneer of Cryogenic Rocket Engines, who talked on ‘Rocket Propulsion System, and Chandrayaan-2'.  This was followed by a talk on ‘150th Anniversary of the Periodic Table’ by Principal Scientist Dr. Ramanuj Narayan of IICT. An interactive session took place, wherein the participating students interacted with the speakers, thus gaining a lot of understanding of science.

This was followed by a group discussion to enable the students to share their thoughts, and the moderator summarized the discussion which took place.

Following Lunch, the last speaker Mr. Satya Illa, founder Kaanthi, Social Innovation and Leadership Instructor, NITI Ayog gave a talk on Entrepreneurship Development.  The Title of the talk was ‘Lab to Market’ for Electrical Safety Equipments for farmers and rural people.

Subsequently, quiz programs were held among the students representing their schools.  The quiz was conducted in two rounds organized by Mr. Shantanu, Mrs.Poulami and Mr. Anirudh. The first one was a written, followed by the final round on an interactive session.

The prize distribution for Quiz, Poster Competition, and Group Discussion events took place.  This was followed by Vote of Thanks, and the National Anthem.

Go Back